Wake Up Everybody (Review)

So the other day we got a preview of what the John Legend/The Roots joint album will sound like thanks to the release of the 1st single, Wake Up Everybody”. It features Common and Roc Nation artist, Melanie Fiona. It is a cover of a 1975  version by Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes.

I like it. I enjoy the soul put into it. You hear it from every1 from The Roots to John and Melanie to the orchestra in the back. It’s something that you can snap and dance to. One thing that I really appreciate about it is that it has a good message, and I quote,

“The world won’t get no better if we just let it be
The world won’t get no better we gotta change it yeah, just you and me.”

Songs like this make me happy. Even teary. Its so good. Go and buy it.

Verdict: 1st it was a 7, but then after a few listens I changed my mind, so it’s a 9. 🙂 Wake Up and Listen, Everybody!

This entry was posted in Hip-Hop, Luv, Music, RnB, Soul and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

