Barney’s Version (Review)

   On new years day, I went out to dinner with my family. Since the place we ate at is right next to the movie theatre, we descided to go to the movies after. “Barney’s Version” was the choice for two of us, while the others went to see “Little Fockers” (read my last post for a review on that).

   “Barney’s Version” follows the life of Barney Panofsky (played by Paul Giamatti), a jewish Montrealer that seems to find himself unlucky with love throuout many parts in his life. It is based on the novel of the same name by Mordecai Richler.

    This movie for me was fun to see. I am a Montrealer (Montreal is were the film takes place). The only reason that I was able to see it on New Years Day was because it was released here (I believe here means all of Canada) before anywhere else. So being a Montrealer, I was able to enjoy seeing various locations that I have been in, streets that I have walked, and even people that I know! Believe it or not, two people that I know play extras in the film. So for me the whole setting of the film was just exiting to see. Not many movies are made in Montreal, so that is one thing that really gets me more excited, just to be proud seeing my city on the big screen! I even think I saw a bit being filmed!

   Paul Giamatti was just excellent in this film. I think that is really just the best role that he has done in his career. I never really took that guy too seriously as an actor before ’06 (when “Cinderella Man” came out) I always thought of him as “That guy in ‘Big Fat Liar'”, and that certainly isn’t  one of his standout roles, at all! But with “Cinderella Man”, Giamatti was a supporting role. In “Barney’s Version”, Giamattia proves that he could play a strong leading role. My respect gets deeper than just that because of the fact that he was able to play the character, Barney, throuout many years of his life. Also, good job to the makeup team for being able to make Paul Giamatti look like a 25 or 30 year old, right up until a 70 or 80 year old (I am actually just guessing those numbers).

My final thoughts on the movie are that it is phenominal. I will probaly see it again, and I haven’t seen something a second time in theatres sinces 2005! Forget James Franco, Paul Giamatti is the one that deserves the Oscar!

Overall: 10/10, my most possitive review yet!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barney’s Version (Review)

  1. moviegeek says:

    WOW! 10/10…
    I have not read the book but to me the film felt too episodic and there were too many characters most of whom were barely touched and became more like caricatures.
    However Giamatti was AMAZING!!
    this is my review of the film
    http://wp.me/p19wJ2-cv

Leave a Reply

